AirBus A380 Cockpit

Started by MSUFan, February 26, 2008, 09:31:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MSUFan

Thought this picture was pretty cool. Fairly simple and straight forward design, but technologically intense... Take a look

http://www.gillesvidal.com/blogpano/cockpit1.htm

Rico

billybob476

Being a private pilot myself this is very cool. I like the way the engineer's station has been reduced to a laptop.

MSUFan

Quote from: billybob476 on February 26, 2008, 10:09:33 AM
Being a private pilot myself this is very cool. I like the way the engineer's station has been reduced to a laptop.

Billy, being a private pilot, how come the joystick is on the left for the pilot in the Airbus cockpit? Myself having no flight experience besides Microsoft Flight Simulator thinks that would be kind of awkward for a right handed person ;).

billybob476

Actually, even in small planes (like the Cessna 172's I fly) you fly with your left hand. The pilot in command always flies left seat and the copilot flies right seat. You hold the stick with your left becuase all your "common" controls (thorttle, flaps, trim, landing gear etc) are in the middle of the two seats.

The only thing I've flown right handed are gliders (I got my glider license the year before my private). They have a stick that you hold with your right hand and the control for your spoilers in on the left.

MSUFan

Quote from: billybob476 on February 26, 2008, 10:26:31 AM
Actually, even in small planes (like the Cessna 172's I fly) you fly with your left hand. The pilot in command always flies left seat and the copilot flies right seat. You hold the stick with your left becuase all your "common" controls (thorttle, flaps, trim, landing gear etc) are in the middle of the two seats.

The only thing I've flown right handed are gliders (I got my glider license the year before my private). They have a stick that you hold with your right hand and the control for your spoilers in on the left.